Controversy at Barça-Benfica. In the 35th minute of the match, Otamendi scored after taking a corner kick. As he celebrated, he stared in amazement at the lineman, who had raised the flag. The reason was that the ball had gone off the baseline at the time of throwing it away, something that was not appreciated well in the repetition.
Regardless of what the human eye teaches, the VAR was reviewing the play and considered that, indeed, the ball had gone out and that, therefore, the assistant had seen well and the goal should not go up to the scoreboard. A camera attached to the baseline is in charge of determining whether the ball goes out or not..
Iturralde González, referee for the Carrusel Deportivo de la Cadena SER and AS, explained the play on the air: “I think it comes out. The assistant is the one who sees it best. There is a camera that is right on the line and it looks perfect. They should show the image. When you get it right they have no obligation to show it“.
Penalty over Memphis
In minute 57, Memphis cut back and ended up losing the ball. But in the dispute for said ball, Otamendi ends up nailing the studs after repelling the ball on the bottom line. This is how Iturralde sees it: “If he whistles it, nothing happens. He clears the ball and hits the studs. If he falls to the ground, he gets the referee in trouble.”
#controversy #BarçaBenfica #goal #annulled #Otamendi #penalty #Memphis