In the second stadium of Wimbledon, all sorts of things happened in an entertaining duel for the public. The duel ignited in the closing stages of the second set, when a linesman approached the umpire to inform him that Kyrgios had misbehaved verbally. The tennis player was given a warning.
Then the complaining Kyrgios won the set, after which Tsitsipas in turn hit a ball into the stands. Kyrgios loudly wondered why the Greek was not disqualified for this (see images below), but found no response.
In the third set, Kyrgios hit an underhand service and out of frustration, Tsitsipas returned the ball with a hard blow that landed far behind the court and only just missed a spectator. Tsitsipas had no intention of hitting the ball inside the lines and that resulted in a penalty: the next game Kyrgios led 15-0. In the remainder of the set, the frustrated Greek tried to hit his opponent several times. Kyrgios challenged him by calling out “good ball” when Tsitsipas made mistakes.
Early in the fourth set, Kyrgios fell and lay there for several seconds. The physio entered the track, but was quickly sent away. The game was halted at 4-4 as the roof had to be closed due to darkness and after the interruption, Kyrgios finished it off in a blistering tiebreak.
#Cursing #ranting #Nick #Kyrgios #heated #duel #Wimbledon #Stefanos #Tsitsipas