Champions of the former Conmebol Cup claim Copa Sudamericana level



Conmebol logo.


Taken from

Conmebol logo.

The highest body of South American soccer has already received the request.

The winners of the former Conmebol Cupclaim that their triumph is currently valued at the level of the winners of the South American Cup.

7 champions


Conmebol reported that it has already received the request from the 7 clubs that were champions of this tournament, which at the time was of great importance to the continent behind the Copa Libertadores.

See also  Ecuador and Uruguay, qualified for the Qatar 2022 World Cup

The additional idea is that this acceptance helps them score points in the ranking of Conmebol.

“CONMEBOL officially received the request from the seven CONMEBOL Cup winning teams, who want the same number of points in the annual club ranking, as CONMEBOL @Sudamericana champions,” the entity reported.

“The request will be submitted to the Club Commission for them to issue an opinion and the final decision will be made through the CONMEBOL Council,” he added.

The Conmebol Cup was played between 1992 and 1999 and had 7 champions: Atlético Mineiro (twice), Botafogo, Sao Paulo, Rosario, Lanús, Santos and Talleres.

ANDhe Lanús title was won over Independiente Santa Fe in the 1996 final.


more sports news

keep going down
to find more content

you arrived at content limit of the month

Enjoy the content to the fullest DIGITAL WEATHER unlimited. Sign up now!

* COP $900 / month for the first two months

We know that you like to always be informed.

Create an account and you can enjoy:

  • Access to newsletters with the best current news.
  • Comment the news that interests you.
  • Save your favorite items.

Create an account and you can enjoy our content from any device.

#Champions #Conmebol #Cup #claim #Copa #Sudamericana #level

Related Posts

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *